Inspire 12 & 13 – 2021-23

Welcome to the Inspire Programme for Year 12 & 13

“This programme has made me believe that applying and being accepted into Oxford is a more achievable dream than I first believed.” (Inspire Programme, Year 12 Pupil, 2021)

The St John’s Inspire Programme for Year 12 and 13 pupils (Inspire 12 & 13) encourages high-achieving pupils from all backgrounds at non-selective state schools to make competitive applications to top universities, and equips them with the skills to make a successful transition from school to higher education. This year, the Inspire 12 & 13 theme is ‘Order in Our World’.

Inspire 12 Summer Schools – Applications Now Open!

This year we are hosting two Summer Schools for Inspire 12: our Virtual Summer School and our Residential Summer School!

Applications are now open for the St John’s Inspire Residential Summer School 2022 – we can’t wait to welcome you to the College this summer! 

Click this link for details, and to find out how to apply.  

Twilight Session 1 (release date: 08/03/2022)

You can explore the timetable for the Year 12 & 13 Inspire Programme below. Participants on the programme can click on the links to access recordings. The timetable will be updated throughout the year as new sessions are announced.

Session Link
Oxford Explainedhttps://sjcinspire.com/oxford-explained/
Why are insects like each other? (Biology)https://sjcinspire.com/why-are-insects-like-each-other/
Ancient and Modern Ideas of Genre (Classics)https://sjcinspire.com/ancient-and-modern-ideas-of-genre/
Rome to the End: Roman Power There and Back Again (Ancient History)https://sjcinspire.com/rome-to-the-end-roman-power-there-and-back-again/
From the Big Bang to Biology: Finding Patterns Through Mathematics (Computational Modelling)https://sjcinspire.com/from-the-big-bang-to-biology-finding-patterns-through-mathematics/
Skills Session: How to Prepare a Research Projecthttps://sjcinspire.com/how-to-prepare-a-research-project/

These taster lectures are accompanied by a Going Further, which includes activities to stretch your understanding and opportunities to enhance your CV and personal statement!

Twilight Session 2 (release date: 29/03/2022)

Session Link
The future of the Museum (Archaeology and Anthropology)https://sjcinspire.com/the-future-of-the-museum/
The Origins of Sleep (Biology – Neurophysiology)https://sjcinspire.com/the-origins-of-sleep/
The Dystopian Order: How Imagining the Worst is Norm and Normal (English and Film Studies)https://sjcinspire.com/the-dystopian-order-how-imagining-the-worst-is-norm-and-normal/
Ordering Tudor England (History)https://sjcinspire.com/ordering-tudor-england/
Using Statistics to Predict Outcomes in Psychiatric Disorders (Medicine – Psychiatry)https://sjcinspire.com/using-statistics-to-predict-outcomes-in-psychiatric-disorders/
Skills Session: Understanding Student Financehttps://sjcinspire.com/skills-session-understanding-student-finance/

These taster lectures are accompanied by a Going Further, which includes activities to stretch your understanding and opportunities to enhance your CV and personal statement!

Twilight Session 3 (release date: 26/04/2022)

SessionLink
How does the environment influence our heritage? (Geography)https://sjcinspire.com/how-does-the-environment-influence-our-heritage/
How does your immune system make you feel? (Medicine)https://sjcinspire.com/how-does-your-immune-system-make-you-feel/
Geopolitical anomalies: what can they teach us? (Geopolitics)https://sjcinspire.com/geopolitical-anomalies-what-can-they-teach-us/
How do we see? (Neuroscience)https://sjcinspire.com/how-do-we-see/
Skills Session: How to Choose the ‘Right’ Course for Youhttps://sjcinspire.com/how-to-choose-the-right-course-for-you/
Inspire 12 Summer Schools – Applications Now Open!https://sjcinspire.com/inspire-12-summer-schools/

These taster lectures are accompanied by a Going Further, which includes activities to stretch your understanding and opportunities to enhance your CV and personal statement!

Twilight Session 4 (release date: 17/05/2022)

SessionLink
Unexpected ways in which we use / do not use memory (Psychology)https://sjcinspire.com/unexpected-ways-in-which-we-use-do-not-use-memory/
The Noise of Mid-Century Poetry (English)https://sjcinspire.com/the-noise-of-mid-century-poetry/
From Worms to Water and everything in between (Biochemistry)https://sjcinspire.com/from-worms-to-water-and-everything-in-between/
Early Modern Women Writers and World Order (English)https://sjcinspire.com/early-modern-women-writers-and-world-order/
Skills Session: UCAS and University Applicationshttps://sjcinspire.com/skills-session-ucas-and-university-applications/
Skills Session: Admissions Tests at Oxfordhttps://sjcinspire.com/skills-session-admission-tests-at-oxford/

These taster lectures are accompanied by a Going Further, which includes activities to stretch your understanding and opportunities to enhance your CV and personal statement!

Twilight Session 5 (release date: 14/06/2022)

Chat to our students

Interested in finding out what life is like at Oxford? Our students are available to answer any questions you might have via The Ambassador Platform! You can chat to our Access Officer, our Admissions Officer, or just view answers to our Frequently Asked Questions. Click the button below to head straight there!